Suspended Driving License
If you have a suspended driving license, contact the experienced attorneys at Eric O. Moody & Associates for legal assistance in restoring your right to drive legally.
In Virginia, driving on a Revoked or Suspended License is classified as a class 1 misdemeanor, carrying a potential maximum of one year in jail, $2,500 in fines, civil remedial fees, and driver’s license suspension. A conviction of driving without a license is a class 2 misdemeanor and carries a maximum of 6 months in jail and $1,000 in fines.
Some of the issues we handle include:
* Driving with a Suspended License
* Driving Without a License
* Impoundment of vehicle (administrative or judicial)
* Driving with a foreign driver’s license
In Virginia, Driving on a Revoked or Suspended License is a serious traffic charge. These charges frequently arise when somebody’s driver’s license is suspended for failure to pay fines resulting from a traffic infraction or from a DMV administrative suspension. To support a conviction for driving on a revoked or suspended license in Virginia, the Commonwealth must also show that the Defendant had notice of the suspension.
A conviction of driving on a suspended license may carry with it an additional period of suspension, maybe up to an additional year. This may in turn become another charge of driving on a suspended license if you need to drive at any time during that year… on the third time, a mandatory minimum jail sentence applies.
Eric Moody and Associates can provide you with assistance if you are accused of driving on a suspended license. Our firm will analyze your particular case, talk to the police officer who gave you the driving on a suspended license ticket, discuss your case with the prosecuting attorney…. then advise you whether to enter into a negotiated resolution or go through with trial.
The Virginia Driving on a suspended license statute can be found here.
Additionally, if you are caught driving with a suspended license in Virginia or allow someone else to drive your vehicle with a suspended license in Virginia, your vehicle may be impounded. The statute can be found here.
Driving without a driver’s license in Virginia is also a serious crime. Although the first conviction is a class 2 misdemeanor, a second or subsequent conviction of driving without a license in Virginia is a class one misdemeanor. The message is clear. Drive without a license and you may go to jail regardless of the quality of your driving!
Each suspended license case is unique and your case will need to be evaluated individually to determine an effective defense. Contact Attorneys Eric O. Moody & Associates today and let us help you navigate the complex process of retaining your driving privileges.